OUR AMBASSADORS

Joanie Roy

Ambassador

  • facebook

Marathon, Half Marathon

  • Participation in several half-marathons

  • Qualifying for the 2019 Boston Marathon on first participation

  • Other sports activities: cross-country skiing, alpine skiing, road cycling, wakesurfing, golf

Bas-St-Laurent, Québec

Originally from Gaspé, Joanie Roy grew up in Rimouski where she has practiced as an orthodontist for 10 years.

 

As far back as she can remember, Joanie has always practised a lot of sports: first in the sport-study program at the age of 10, then until the end of high school, in various sports such as as figure skating, tennis, golf and basketball.

 

She is grateful that her parents gave her this opportunity, as she believes that sport is the best way to motivate and prepare our brains to study. In fact, Joanie believes it was the balance between an active life and school that got her through these not always easy eight years of college.

 

In 2008 in Toronto, during her specialty program in orthodontics, she fell in love with long distance races. Despite the fact that Joanie was already running long before, this is when running took a lot more place in her life and it has not changed since.

 

A few years later, in 2019, after competing in several half-marathons, she took on a new challenge and qualified for the Boston Marathon in her very first participation in this distance.

 

In the winter, Joanie also enjoys cross-country skiing and alpine skiing and is part of an adult synchronized skating team.

 

In the summer, if she's not running, you might see her on a road bike, wakesurf board, or golf course.

 

Mother of two little girls, it is important for this athlete to integrate sport into her daily life and to introduce them to several sports. She also tries to teach them that with a lot of discipline and willpower, we achieve great things and, in the end, we are our only limit ...

NOS AMBASSADEURS

Joanie Roy photo.jpg

Joanie Roy

Ambassadrice

  • facebook

Marathon, Demi-Marathon

  • Participation à plusieurs demi-marathons

  • Qualification pour le Marathon de Boston 2019 à sa première participation

  • Autres activités sportives: ski de fond, ski alpin, vélo de route, wakesurf, golf

 

Bas-St-Laurent, Québec

Gaspésienne d’origine, Joanie Roy a grandi à Rimouski où elle pratique comme orthodontiste depuis déjà 10 ans. 

D’aussi loin qu'elle se souvienne, Joanie a toujours fait énormément de sports: d'abord dans le programme sport-étude à l’âge de 10 ans, puis jusqu’à la fin du secondaire et ce, dans différents sports tels que le patinage artistique, le tennis, le golf et le basket-ball.

 

Elle est reconnaissante que ses parents lui aient offert cette possibilité, car elle est convaincue que le sport est la meilleure façon de motiver et de préparer notre cerveau à étudier. En fait, Joanie croit que c’est l’équilibre entre une vie active et les études qui lui ont permis de traverser ces huit années d’université, pas toujours faciles.

 

En 2008, à Toronto, lors de son programme de spécialité en orthodontie, elle est tombée amoureuse des courses de longue distance. Malgré le fait que Joanie courait déjà bien avant, c’est à ce moment que la course a pris beaucoup plus de place dans sa vie et cela n’a pas changé depuis. 

Quelques années plus tard, en 2019, après avoir participé à plusieurs demi-marathons, elle se lançait un nouveau défi et se qualifiait pour le Marathon de Boston à sa toute première participation sur cette distance.

L’hiver, Joanie adore également pratiquer le ski de fond et le ski alpin et fait partie d’une équipe de patinage synchronisé adulte. 

L’été, si elle ne court pas, vous risquez de le voir sur un vélo de route, une planche de wakesurf ou un parcours de golf.

Maman de deux petites filles, il est important pour cette athlète d’intégrer le sport à son quotidien et de leur en faire découvrir plusieurs. Elle essaie également de leur apprendre qu’avec beaucoup de discipline et de volonté, on réussit de grandes choses et, qu’en bout de ligne, on est notre seule limite...